Sunday, February 26, 2012

ABS-CBN big winner at 10th Gawad Tanglaw!

ABS-CBN was the big winner in the 10th Gawad Tanglaw or Tagapuring mga Akademisyan ng Aninong Gumagalaw, which hands out trophies to outstanding movies, TV shows, and radio shows annually.

ABS-CBN won 14 trophies in television arts, including the coveted TV Station of the Year.

“Bandila” was selected as Best News Program, while its anchor Julius Babao was named Best Male News Program Anchor.

“Matanglawin” was named Best Educational TV Program, while “The Bottom Line” won as Best Public Affairs Program.

“Umagang Kay Ganda” was named “Best Morning Show,” and “Sports Unlimited” won as “Best News Program.”

Three shows of ANC also emerged victorious: “Storyline” (Best TV Documentary), “Travel Time” (Best Travel Show) and “Executive Class” (Best Lifestyle Program).

ABS-CBN’s entertainment shows made a sweep in their respective categories, with “ASAP” winning Best Variety Show and “Maalaala Mo Kaya” (MMK) named as “Best Drama Anthology.”

MMK’s episode “Parol” also won acting awards for Helen Gamboa and Enchong Dee.

The Best Drama Series award went to “100 Days to Heaven,” which also won a Best Actress trophy for child star Xyriel Manabat.

Coco Martin received the Best Actor award for “Minsan Lang Kita Iibigin.”

In radio arts, DZMM was named Best AM Station, while Bro. Jun “Dr. Love” Banaag was selected Best Radio DJ.

Banaag, Anthony Taberna and Gerry Baja were also named Best Radio Anchors for their show “Dos Por Dos.”

Meanwhile, ABS-CBN president Charo Santos-Concio was given the Gawad Tanglaw sa Sining ng Telebisyon.

Film awards

The indie hit “Ang Babae sa Septik Tank” won most of the major awards in the film arts, including Best Picture, Best Actress for lead star Eugene Domingo, Best Director for Marlon Rivera and Best Screenplay for Chris Martinez.

Martin Escudero was named Best Actor for “Zombadings: Patayin sa Shokot si Remington,” while his co-star Kerbie Zamora won as Best Supporting Actor for the same movie.

The Best Supporting Actress award went to Fides Cuyugan Asencio for “Niño.”

Since this is the 10 year of the Gawad Tanglaw, the award-giving body also named its “Pinaka Kapuri-puring Artista ng Dekada.” These are: Vilma Santos, Nora Aunor, Gina Pareño, Anita Linda, Rustica Carpio, Cherry Pie Picache, Cesar Montano, Coco Martin, Allen Dizon, Sid Lucero and Emilio Garcia.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...